<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Dave Beauvais&#039; Web Site &#187; Internet</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.beauvais1.com/archives/category/internet/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.beauvais1.com</link>
	<description>Thoughts, rants, cycling, technology, and other stuff nobody will read</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 12 Apr 2010 20:05:21 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0</generator>
		<item>
		<title>eMusic spam and other sleazy business practices</title>
		<link>http://www.beauvais1.com/archives/2008/01/24/emusic-spam-and-other-sleazy-business-practices/</link>
		<comments>http://www.beauvais1.com/archives/2008/01/24/emusic-spam-and-other-sleazy-business-practices/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 24 Jan 2008 07:18:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Dave Beauvais</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Annoyances]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Internet]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[corporate greed]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[e-mail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eMusic]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[policy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[privacy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[spam]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Sprint]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.beauvais1.com/archives/2008/01/24/emusic-spam-and-other-sleazy-business-practices/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Jason Dunn mentions on his site that he&#8217;s recently been spammed by Paramount Pictures using an e-mail address he gave to them while requesting more information about the upcoming movie Iron Man. Like him, I use unique e-mail addresses for &#8230; <a href="http://www.beauvais1.com/archives/2008/01/24/emusic-spam-and-other-sleazy-business-practices/">Continue reading <span class="meta-nav">&#8594;</span></a>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Jason Dunn <a href="http://www.jasondunn.com/paramount-why-you-so-spammy-683" title="Link to an article at Jason Dunn's personal blog" target="_blank">mentions on his site</a> that he&#8217;s recently been spammed by Paramount Pictures using an e-mail address he gave to them while requesting more information about the upcoming movie <em>Iron Man</em>. Like him, I use unique e-mail addresses for each company or service I do business with, and like him I&#8217;ve had this happen with a few of my unique addresses.</p>
<p>The worst is the address used for my eMusic subscription, which now receives between 20-50 spams each day. I am also receiving spam at the address I used when I was a Sprint PCS customer, as well as addresses used for rebate submissions to Sprint, CompUSA, Micro Center, and Daewoo Electronics. The latter two were separate store and manufacturer rebates on a 17&#8243; LCD monitor a few years back and I used a different variation of the address for each rebate. Both addresses receive the same spam, usually only a few seconds apart. It wasn&#8217;t until last week that I noticed the spam at the Sprint PCS addresses; one was my customer address, the other was for a Sprint mail-in rebate.</p>
<p>A search for eMusic spam turned up <a href="http://trainedmonkey.com/2006/11/17/privacy_breach_at_emusic_" title="eMusic spam article" target="_blank">several</a> <a href="http://blog.chrisgagne.com/?p=8" title="eMusic spam article" target="_blank">people</a> who have had unique addresses given only to eMusic become <a href="http://betabug.ch/blogs/ch-athens/606" title="eMusic spam article" target="_blank">targets for spam</a>. I complained to eMusic support about about this and actually got a response from a human asking me to forward complete copies of some example spam along with message headers. I sent them twenty samples and a week or two later got the same response others have received: it&#8217;s a dictionary attack.</p>
<p>That&#8217;s crap. If it were a dictionary attack I would be getting tens of thousands of spams to all kinds of unique words or word combinations. Instead, the spam I receive is targeted at about three or four specific addresses these days. In fact, about 90% of my spam has been stopped simply by blocking about twenty specific addresses at the server; before that, I would routinely receive anywhere from 3,000-4,000 spams every 24 hours. The remaining 300-400 spams I receive each day are sent almost exclusively to my primary e-mail address and my eMusic address.</p>
<p>It&#8217;s pretty clear that when executives want some more money, privacy policies can be easily rewritten to permit a company to sell whatever customer data they feel like sharing. One person whose eMusic address has been spammed thought that eMusic&#8217;s servers had been compromised. I don&#8217;t believe that. Rather, I think one look at their &#8220;privacy&#8221; policy shows that they are free to share their customers&#8217; personal information with whatever &#8220;partner&#8221; they wish, making that data subject to some other company&#8217;s privacy policy which we, as the customer, have no ability to accept or reject. eMusic itself may not have sold the customer data, but it&#8217;s likely that one of their &#8220;partner&#8221; companies did. (A note for the lawyers in the audience: I&#8217;m not outright accusing eMusic or its partners of doing this; it just seems a bit suspicious that this particular e-mail address is now receiving spam.)</p>
<p>As an aside, because I have never used my primary address for anything but personal mail, I suspect the majority of the spam is from well-meaning friends using it to send e-cards or it having been harvested from peoples&#8217; mailboxes by viruses, worms, and other malware. Folks, <acronym title="Blind Carbon Copy">BCC</acronym> is a friend and you should use it. It&#8217;s simply not a good idea to send a message addressed to tens or hundreds of To or CC recipients. But that&#8217;s <a href="http://www.jasondunn.com/bcc-blind-carbon-copy-email-565" target="_blank" title="Link to BCC article at Jason Dunn's Personal Blog.">a different topic</a>.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.beauvais1.com/archives/2008/01/24/emusic-spam-and-other-sleazy-business-practices/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
